In which baby reaches full term

So, here I am at 37 weeks, 4 days.

What’s news?

I am very large now. I’ve  had some back pain, but not as bad as the first pregnancy (less sitting I think). I’ve had some pelvic pain when getting up. I have not had trouble gripping things, like last time. I’ve not had any cravings particularly, maybe just for lemon cordial – that citrus taste. But nothing urgent, like last time (orange juice). I’ve been getting increasingly uncomfortable from about 28 weeks I think. It is very difficult to bend now, and I have to flip my legs up to the side to get shoes on.

I’ve so far gained 12.8 kg (28 pounds).

I finished up work last week, which was good, as I was definitely getting over it.

So far the weather has been very kind. It has not been a hot summer, with days getting only up to about 36 degrees C (97 F) so far, however that is due to change, with 37 for Christmas day (98.6) and 40 C (104) forecast for Boxing Day. Not looking forward to this. A friend also has invited herself and her two kids over for Christmas day, which could be ok, but generally her children (and dog) make a huge mess, which I’m really not up to dealing with. So, I will just have to insist they bring their own food (vegetarians) and clean up after themselves, whilst I retreat so I don’t get too grumpy. She did invite us over to hers, but only after I looked extremely alarmed about them coming over. Anyway, we do need their support over the next while, and it should be nice, as long as they don’t completely trash the house and leave me with an over tired child and a trashed house. Just cannot deal with that in 40 degree heat.

There’s been quite a bit of toing and froing about whether my placenta is too low to allow me to deliver naturally. Given my uterus was semiseptate requiring surgery, I suspect it is only if embryo implants low, resulting in a low placenta, that I actually can/could carry a baby. My first was also low, but resolved by 32 weeks. So, I’ll take low placenta (this is not placenta praevia), over miscarriage any day.

The placenta was ultrasounded at 2 cm from the cervical os, which is just on the limit of where it is allowed to be as of last Monday. An obstetrician we saw on Tuesday (not my regular one, as she is away) said she would leave it up to us, so I said I’d try to deliver naturally, but have an IV catheter in, so blood or a general anaesthetic can be administered rapidly if I haemorrhage. I guess if they have to do a hysterectomy too, that won’t be the end of the world (now). Apparently I have about a 60% chance of a vaginal birth, which is about normal. I have to go in early though, and labour at the hospital.

If I’d gone to Caesar, then we would have had to decide whether to get it over before Christmas (any time from the 21st) or to leave it until after. Now with the baby choosing when it comes, this is easier.

We have no names. I have not packed a bag. But I think I have all “the stuff” required. My mum will come some time after the 29th, hopefully she is in time to look after my 4.5 year old.

Finally, I’ve been consuming Kindle Unlimited accounts of infertility recently. I’ve felt able to finally read these.

I’ve read

“The Ten Year Club” by Louise Lindin. This was really well written. It is an account of a relationship being shattered by infertility. I did find it frustrating that for various reasons (anxiety, lack of trust in doctors, sexual abuse and some initial poor medical appointments and advice) that the author did not seek conventional medical advice, instead put all her faith in alternative medicine. I wanted to shake her at various times, as time was running out. I won’t spoil the end. I do recommend this one.

Dairy of a traumatised uterus by Elysee Orchidkiller. I found this one a bit less gripping than the Ten Year Club. I didn’t particularly like the author, and thought her behaviour often quite dramatic and childish, however, she was having a very tough time. The writing was ok but not brilliant.

The Underachieving ovary by Jt Lawrence I found this one interesting as she also had a semi-septate uterus. Poor girl also had horrendous endometriosis causing extreme pain. Again, I don’t think the writing was brilliant. Read a bit more like a blog.

Crossing the Moon by Paulette Aldin. This book is beautifully written, although it doesn’t particularly focus on infertility until the end. The author only starts trying for a baby at 39 and is still wracked with indecision as to whether this is what she wants to do. It is interesting reading about fertility treatments in the early to mid 1980s, prior to IVF and embryo and egg donation. Things were much more limited. She was put onto Clomid for months and months (8 months or more in a row), whereas now I believe it is limited to 3 months. Interuterine insemination is called “artificial insemination” . Another drug used is Progynal (estradiol). They do eventually start follicle stimulation, but she doesn’t seem to realise that 3 follicles after stimulation is actually not good at all. I suppose not as much was known in those days, of course. And infertility was only just starting to be treated, rather than it simply being too bad. And, interestingly, there is little information for her. She starts a support group for women at the infertility clinic who are 40+. I guess this is what you did back then, now its message boards and blogs of course.

So it’s certainly been interesting reading these books, as it’s like reading a blog, but condensed, as you get the whole story. I have noticed a number of blogs I follow post only very intermittently, or have given up. I get that. Things happen slowly in infertility land, as you wait for the next month, or the next cycle, or what ever. It can make for slow blogging. I feel so blessed that our infertility was really relatively straight-forward compared to these women (contributing factors were age and semi-septate uterus only, no male factor, no other issues). In the end, I guess I am extraordinarily lucky that I managed to dodge the IVF bullet, by 4 days.

Something I did find quite interesting about these books is the plethora of magical thinking manifested as visits to alternative practitioners. In fact every single one of the books authors went to a psychic. I get it. I do, but I didn’t act on my magical thinking, I just recognised it for what it was.

The other news today is I cut my leg quite badly on a piece of tin in the back garden. I had to go in and have stitches, as the cut was full thickness and gaping. It was about 5 cm (2 inches long). The local anaesthetic hurt quite a bit going in (burning), so goodness knows how I will cope with labour again. The whole idea of going through labour makes me feel tired. Last time I did it with gas only but ended up needing a Ventouse. I do feel better prepared, which is maybe why I feel tired about the whole thing.

Anyway, the count-down is really beginning now. I’m due January 5th. I predict a New Year’s Day baby though.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

